Five years ago, when I started this triathlon business, 2014 was only supposed to be the year I race in a full distance triathlon. I had my sights set on Lake Placid, and that is what it was going to be. In July of 2013, I volunteered at IMLP to secure my spot for 2014, and the day after the ironman, and about 700 bucks later, I was in! I set a goal for myself, and this was one of the last steps involved to get to my goal. 

As last season slowly unfolded for me, bad luck and all, I started realizing that 2014 was going to be more than just my 140.6 yr. 

In October of 2013, I filled out an application to join the Revolution 3 triathlon team. After filling the form out, an email was sent to me saying that if I hear nothing by the first half of November, than I had not progressed to the next round of getting on the team. Okay, I can deal with that, but when is the first of of November? For the first 15 days of November, I think I checked my email about 500 times a day, waiting to hear something, anything! It got to be November 20, and sadly I had heard nothing. I gave myself exactly 1 day to be upset, and then I thought to myself, “That’s ok! I have 3 Rev3 races on my schedule next yr, and they will remember me!!!! I will apply again next yr and they will say oh yea, we know that chick!!” 

Well guess what?? On Thanksgiving morning I received an email from Rev3 notifying me that out of over 600 applicants, I was narrowed down to one of the last 50! Approximately 2 weeks later, I was told I made the team!!!!!!~ (Insert scream here!!! I still get SOOOO EXCITED when I think about it!) 

This is my first actual sponsorship, and it is very exciting, and kind of scary, at the same time. Through email I have been connected to the whole Rev3 team, and we are all ready to rock and roll! I feel like I’ve gained another family, and I can’t wait to meet them all. (Infact, I’m really hoping that someone on the team can help me fancy up this blog a bit. I must admit, I’m pretty lost when it comes to computers, and I don’t understand what widgets are!!)

I also found out that I successfully qualified for Revolution 3’s age group championship race in Knoxville, TN in May!!! This is CRAZY! This will be awesome! I have only raced a few different Rev3 venues, but each race I have attended has been spectacular! Everything from the course to the post race food is absolutely worth it, and I can’t wait to “suit up” with the rest of the team.

As this year unfolds, I can’t wait to write about my experiences, whether they are good or bad. I officially started my triathlon training for this year, and I know that in a blink of an eye, it will all be over! Here’s to hoping I savor every moment of it!!!!!! 

A new year, a new me, a new uniform to race in, 2014 will be epic!!

 

 

2 responses to “

Leave a Reply

